Scat-logical: An Answer to Prayer.

Cooper Thornton
4 min readDec 26, 2023
image of Christ praying on the toilet courtesy of RawPixel

Many of us have prayed through one. It is a measure or indication of one’s health. Post-surgery, it is a sign that your internal organs are doing what they are supposed to and you can’t leave the hospital until you have a good one. And it has almost always been a regular part of my day. And for each one, I am thankful.

A cup of coffee, a piece of toast, possibly with some honey or jam, a second cup of coffee, and then after a very short while, I’m usually good to go. Not to leave. But to “go”. As in my morning constitutional. Number 2. Winnie the Poo. (Sometimes I name them.) A good bm.

Though it is normally a routine affair, I don’t take it for granted. In fact as I age, more and more it seems to greatly determine the course of my day. That is what my life has come to. A good poo equals a good day. All seems healthy and right with the world. And if it’s a “no-wiper”, I cheer and do a little dance. If I have two “no-wipers” in a row, I tell friends. If I have three “no-wipers” in a row, that’s when I go out and buy a lottery ticket, because I’m on a lucky streak!

But if it’s a difficult, and sometimes painful, poo… well, then not only am I usually seated on the throne for way too much of my morning, but the world is also a darker and less hopeful place. I have to meditate the darkness away. I might stop everything to take a nap. I…

--

--

Cooper Thornton

Parent, Actor, People Lover, Observer, Writer and Most Often Happy Depressive in NC by way of LA by way of UK by way of BC by way of TN, where it all started.